Election Commission orders re-polling in Tripura West Parliamentary constituency on May 12


The Election Commission of India (ECI) ordered re-polling for the Tripura West parliamentary constituency on May 12 in six phases of Lok Sabha elections after declaring polling across 168 booths of Tripura West parliamentary constituency as void.

The notice issued by Election Commission of India said that “after taking all material circumstances into account the EC has declared under subsection 2 of section 58 of the Representation of People Act 1951 that the polling that took place in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections on April 11, 2019, in Tripura West Parliamentary constituency is considered as void and May 12 is the date for taking fresh polls from 7 a.m. to 5 p.m.”

Previously the Congress and Communist Party of India Marxist (CPIM) lodged complaints of misconduct and rigging by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in the EVM during the elections held in best Tripura constituency.

The opposition parties accuse the ruling party of misconduct and booth capturing and intimidation. The demanded repolling in the constituency.

On the advice of the Election Commission, the ministry has deployed 11 companies a border security force and 4 of the central reserve police forces for the re-elections in Tripura West parliamentary constituency

15 additional paramilitary forces have also been deployed for repolling.

542 parliamentary constituencies in the country witnessing elections in 7 phases. The first five phases for Lok Sabha elections held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, and May 6. The remaining two phases of elections will be held on May 29 May 19.


Chandrababu Naidu asks EC to verify count on all VVPATs if any discrepancy is reported in existing 5 VVPATs

TMC workers attack journalists and vandalise BJP candidate’s vehicle during fifth phase of elections in West Bengal

Modi challenges Congress to contest remaining two phases in Former Prime Minister’s name


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here