Lok Sabha Elections 2019 : Shatrughan Sinha set to join Congress, formal announcement soon


Shatrughan Sinha, Union Cabinet Minister of Health and Family Welfare (Jan 2003- May 2004) and a vocal critic of Prime Minister Narendra Modi will join the Congress party on 28th March, Congress MP Akhilesh Prasad Singh on Tuesday announced. The Actor-turned politician will join the Congress party in the presence of the Congress President, Rahul Gandhi on Thursday.

Along with Kirti Azad, Sinha has vocally criticized BJP to its utmost. The report came by when BJP dropped Shatrughan Sinha from its list in Bihar and announced Union Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad as its candidate from Patna Sahib Parliamentary constituency in Bihar.

Shatrughan Sinha had won the seat in 2014 Lok Sabha Polls. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Shatrughan Sinha will fight against Ravi Shankar Prasad in Bihar.

Shatrughan Sinha dropped a hint of joining the Congress party after meeting the former Bihar Chief Minister and RJD leader Rabri Devi previous Thursday when he added “AT present I am in BJP, but time has come to make some decisions and I will make the right decision. I will soon decide which party to join”

The Congress member Shashi Tharoor invited Shatrughan Sinha on Monday to join Indian National Congress mentioning that there is a room for a leader like him in Congress. Shatrughan Sinha has also attended anti-BJP rallies called by various opposition parties.

Shatrughan Sinha interestingly has neither prefixed his twitter handle with ‘chowkidar’ while all BJP leaders did nor has replaced his header image that has BJP symbol alongside his photo.

Earlier on Tuesday, Shatrughan Sinha slammed BJP and praised Rahul Gandhi for his Income Scheme to eradicate poverty calling it a ‘masterstroke’ for poor. He mentioned that when BJP announced fake promises and “jumlas” about giving 15 lakhs to every individual, subsidies to farmers and 2 lakh jobs to the youth, was it fair?

The BJP is contesting from 17 of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar as part of the NDA government while Congress is fighting Nine seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here