Tejasvi Surya to take on congress veteran BK Hariprasad in Bengaluru South for 2019 Lok Sabha Elections


BJP ended the scuffle on Bengaluru South seat by announcing Tejasvi Surya as the party’s candidate denying the ticket to Tejaswini Ananth Kumar, wife of late Union Minister Ananth Kumar.

Tejasvi Surya, 28, is Karnataka BJP Youth Wing Secretary practicing law. Nephew of Basavanagudi MLA Ravi Subramanya, Tejasvi Surya is BJP’s shock candidate, while Malleshwaram MLA CS Ashwath Narayan has been selected for Bengaluru Rural to face D K Suresh, brother of Congress troubleshooter in chief and Water Resources Minister D K Shivakumar.

Ananth Kumar had been the MP from the Bangalore South seat from 1996 to November 12, 2018. BJP has had a stronghold on the Bengaluru South ever since Ananth Kumar defeated Congress in 1996. With Ananth Kumar’s demise, several leaders backed Tejaswini Ananth Kumar to be the next candidate from Bengaluru South for 2019 Lok Sabha elections. With her tweet, Tejaswini Kumar extended her support to BJP.

However, Surya’s candidature may lead to the division of the Bengaluru South party Cadre, as earlier, supporters of Tejaswini Ananth Kumar staged a dharna outside her V V Puram home.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here